New York, New York–(Newsfile Corp. – June 13, 2022) – Author Leo Peterson has announced the release of his gripping historical thriller, The fighting ibex, the explosive first installment of a planned series set during the Cold War. With an ingenious heroine and refreshing honesty about the socio-economic consequences of war, The fighting ibex is a nuanced and well-researched novel that immerses the reader in the tensions of the time.

A young woman stranded in Italy must make a choice that will change her life: return to New York with her tail between her legs or show the Europeans what a woman from Hell’s Kitchen is capable of…

The fighting ibex follows the life of Victoria Shannon, a 25-year-old nurse who begins a fairytale life with her personal Prince Charming in the aftermath of the Korean War. But when Victoria and her prince’s perfect future disappears, she finds herself stranded in Cortina, Italy, with nothing but a broken heart and a serious dilemma: should she crawl back to New York in defeat or s root in Europe and refuse to be shaken?

While deciding, Victoria befriends several military officers from Italy and the United States. But as the Cold War evolves into full-fledged conflict, it becomes clear that the enemies may be closer than Victoria ever imagined, and all she knows for sure is that returning home is no longer an option.

Perfect for fans of Brad Thor and Vince Flynn, adult readers of drama and suspense will enjoy Peterson’s masterful blend of political intrigue and historical elements. Unlike other novels set at the same time, The fighting ibex does not shy away from tackling issues of appeasement, race and globalization. A series of sequels spanning from 1955 to 1962 will further dissect this dramatic turning point in history.

The fighting ibex is available for purchase at Amazon.com and Barnes & Noble.

What a book reviewer had to say:

“The book is a captivating read, great characters, descriptive locations. It feels like the writer lived the action. A brilliant narrative!” -Ray Fowler

Leo Peterson is an author and medical professional with a lifelong interest in the Cold War. When he’s not writing, he enjoys spending time outdoors. He lives in the southeastern United States with his wife. The fighting ibex is his first novel. To learn more about the book or author, go to https://andrewleepugliese.wixsite.com/leopeterson.

Source:
Lisa Quinn
e-book or print
lisa.quinn[at]ebookorprint[.]com

To view the source version of this press release, please visit https://www.newsfilecorp.com/release/127520